George Theocharides appointed as first Chairman of ESMA’s Risk Standing Committee

The Chairman of the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission (CySEC) Dr. George Theocharides has been appointed Chairman of Risk Standing Committee (RSC), a press release issued by the CySEC says.

The RSC is part of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) and the successor of Committee for Economic and Markets Analysis (CEMA), for which Dr. Theocharides is serving also as Chairman, since March 2022.

It is added that the RSC will continue to contribute to ESMA’s mission by monitoring developments in financial markets, assessing systemic risks, and providing economic background analysis for the general tasks of ESMA. Furthermore, the RSC is entrusted with further responsibilities on risk analysis related to consumers, ESG and innovation, as well as other emerging issues.

“I am honoured to have been appointed to this role and I reaffirm our commitment to contribute?to the healthy development of the financial markets in Europe, encouraging innovation and ensuring investor protection” Dr. Theocharides said.

Dr. Theocharides’ mandate as Chairman of the RSC will run for a two year period from 1 January 2023 until 31st December 2024, the press release concludes.