Parliament returns Limassol parliamentary seat to Georgios Papadopoulos

The House of Representatives plenary, passed a law, on Friday, returning a parliamentary seat in Limassol to Georgios Papadopoulos, whose election had been annulled by a ruling of the election court on May 31.

The plenary by a majority of 26 votes in favour and 13 against passed a legislation proposed by House of Representatives President Demetris Syllouris which in effect returns the parliamentary seat to Papadopoulos.

The election court had ordered the annulment of Georgios Papadopoulos’ election, who won a seat during the 2016 parliamentary elections as a runner up candidate with the Solidarity Movement in the Limassol District.

Former Democratic Rally MP Andreas Michaelides had lodged a petition, after the leader of Solidarity Movement Eleni Theocharous renounced her seat before being sworn in as an MP, in order to remain a member of the European Parliament.

Runner-up Papadopoulos had been sworn in instead of Theocharous, a fact that was contested by Michaelides, advocating a by-election instead.

Source: Cyprus News Agency