Migration management the focus of European Parliament conference

A conference hosted by the European Parliament, in Brussels, on Wednesday, an initiative of the European institution’s President Antonio Tajani, is set to tackle the different but equally challenging aspects of migration management.

With over 700 participants, the conference aims to stress the need for swift resolution of all pending matters related to migration management ahead of the European Summit which will take place later this week.

The conference will be opened by Antonio Tajani, European Commission President Jean � Claude Juncker and the head of the European Diplomacy Federica Mogherini.

Introductory speakers include United Nations Special Representative for International Migration Louise Arbour, Director General of the International Organisation for Migration William Swing, President of the European Committee of the Regions Markku Markkula, President of the European Economic and Social Committee Georges Dassis, United Nations Assistant High Commissioner for Protection Volker Turk and Vice-President of the European Investment Bank Dario Scannapieco.

A round table discussion will bring together speakers such as Chair of the Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home A?airs Claude Moraes, European Commissioner for Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship Dimitris Avramopoulos, Migration Policy Minister of Greece Ioannis Mouzalas.

They will focus on the wider topic of managing asylum and migration including ways to better share responsibility for asylum seekers, accelerating asylum procedure, addressing legal migration gaps, promoting integration, addressing irregular migration, implementing return decisions and ensuring coherence with the Union’s human rights policy.

Another round table discussion taking place at the same time will focus on fostering economic and cultural diplomacy to ensure prosperity and tackling root causes, on how to address humanitarian needs, help partners prevent or manage crises on their own, how to enhance third countries’ capacity building in border management and asylum, ensure coherence with the Union’s human rights policy and democratic scrutiny of international cooperation tools.

Speakers will include Chair of the Committee on Development Linda McAvan, European Commissioner for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Johannes Hahn, the Prime Minister of the Government of National Accord of Libya Fayez al-Sarraj, as well as the Speaker of the Parliament of the Economic Community of West African States Cisse Lo.

A third round table discussion will focus on strengthening the EU’s internal security with the participation of MEP Agustin Diaz de Mera and European Commissioner for Security Union Julian King.

They will tackle matters such as securing the Schengen area, preserving freedom of movement, improving the exchange of information between national authorities, between EU agencies and national authorities, and from national authorities to EU databases as well as dismantling networks of criminal smugglers.

The conference will close with interventions from political groups leaders and Swedish Minister of Justice and Migration Morgan Johansson.

Source: Cyprus News Agency