“Let’s Do It Cyprus” awards to honor environmental action in Cyprus

?he Office of the Commissioner for the Environment and the Volunteer Network Together Cyprus, organize Thursday an event to honour groups and schools for their environmental action with Let’s Do It Cyprus awards.

According to a press release, the event will take place under the auspices of the President of the Republic, Nicos Anastasiades, on Wednesday, July 6, at 6.30 pm, at Paschalis Paschalidis Hall, at the Hellenic Bank Administration building in Nicosia.

The event is dedicated to 35.516 volunteers who participated in the Network’s environmental action.

At the event, the President of the Republic will be represented by the Minister of Education and Culture, Costas Kadis, who will also convey the address of the President.

The Prizes, based on the results of the jury, will be awarded as follows:


1. Nicosia District – Aglantzia Municipality

2. Limassol District – Youth of Akrotiri

3. Paphos District – Paphos Hospital Orthopedic Clinic

4. Larnaca District – Diving Team Kimon Xylotympou

5. Larnaca District – Hellenic Bank

6. Famagusta District – Liopetri Group

Pre-school education

1. Poetry Contest – Psimolofou Public Kindergarten

2. Fairy Tale Contest – – Kathari Public Kindergarten Dimitris Lipertis

3. Material Reuse Contest – Mesogi Public Kindergarten

4. Honorary Distinction – Kofinou Public Kindergarten

Primary Education

1. Poetry Contest – Heritage School

2. Fairy Tale Contest – Drosia Primary School

3. Material reuse contest – Regional Elementary School of Tamasos

4. Honorable Distinctions

Second Primary School of Pera Chorio Nisou

6th Primary School of Aglantzia

Secondary Education

1. Video Contest – Dianellou and Theodotou Gymnasium

2. Photography Contest – Lanition Lyceum of Limassol (Melikidis Elias)

3. Poster Contest – Pallouriotissa Gymnasium

4. Graffiti Contest – Arch. Makarios III Gymnasium, Platy, Class A2

5. Technology Competition – Agios Ioannis Gymnasium, Kato Polemidia

6. Poetry Contest – Med High School – Christos Pantazis, Louis Sotiriou and Giorgos Okakas.

7. Article Writing Contest – Limassol Technical School (Christiana Karaoli)

8. Honorable Distinctions

Gymnasium of Rizokarpaso

Theklion Gymnasium of Limassol

Special School of Nicosia

Special School Apostolos Varnavas, Famagusta

** The news story is in the context of the project Rethink: Reduce- Reuse � Recycle which is funded by the EU programme LIFE+ (project code: LIFE13 INF/CY/000910) of the EU. Coordinating Beneficiary: CyBC. Partners: Green Dot Cyprus, Department of Environment, Cyprus Pedagogical Institute, CNA, Fost Plus Belgium **

Source: Cyprus News Agency