European Elections: Polling stations close in Cyprus for European elections

Polling stations closed in Cyprus at 1800 local time (1500 GMT), as scheduled, Chief Returning Officer Kypros Kyprianou has said.

A total of 641,181 registered voters, 549,011 Greek Cypriots, 81,611 Turkish Cypriots and 10,559 EU citizens were called to cast their vote to elect the six members of the European Parliament from Cyprus, for the 2019-2024 period.

Polling stations were from 0700 local time and closed at 1800, with a one-hour break from 1200 till 1300.

The results of voting in Cyprus are expected to be ready at 2030 local time and will be announced at midnight.

Source: Cyprus News Agency