EU southern countries reiterate their support to a viable settlement of the Cyprus problem

The leaders of the Eruopean Union southern countries reiterated on Wednesday their support to a viable settlement of the Cyprus problem.

The leaders of Cyprus, France, Greece, Italy, Malta, Portugal and Spain, met in Rome for the fourth Summit of the Southern European Union countries.

We closely follow and reiterate our support for a viable comprehensive settlement of the Cyprus problem, in line with the UNSC resolutions and the EU acquis, that reunifies Cyprus and its people, and which safeguards Cyprus’ sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity, without guarantees said a declaration adopted by the seven leaders under the title Bringing the EU forward in 2018.

The Republic of Cyprus is and will remain a member of the European Union after the settlement, and EU membership is the best safeguard for a reunified Cyprus, the declaration added.

The leaders agreed to hold their next summit in Cyprus.

Source: Cyprus News Agency