EMU Signs a Collaboration Protocol with Gecitkale Municipality

A collaboration protocol was signed between the Eastern Mediterranean University (EMU) and the Gecitkale Municipality. As a result of the collaboration protocol, EMU will provide consultancy to the Gecitkale Municipality, in order for the municipality to fulfill the necessary conditions in the application process of the international Cittaslow (Calm City) movement. Furthermore, the protocol aims to improve scientific, social, cultural and academic collaborations along with the improvement of sensitivity towards social issues and the encouragement of mutual projects.

The collaboration protocol was signed on the 1st of November 2016 at EMU Rector’s Office by EMU Rector Prof. Dr. Necdet Osam, Gecitkale Mayor Hasan Ozta? and Vice Dean of EMU Faculty of Architechture, Prof. Dr. H?fsiye Pulhan.

Prof. Dr. Osam stated that EMU is a university that values society and that providing consultancy to the Gecitkale Municipality during the Cittaslow process would make them very happy. Prof. Dr. Osam also added to his words that there are 4 municipalities in Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC) that are members of Cittaslow whilst providing a reminder that EMU provided consultancy for 3 of these municipalities.

Gecitkale Mayor Ozta? stated his pleasure in collaborating with EMU whilst underlining that he is proud of having the chance to receive consultancy from EMU. Ozta? also stated that being in collaboration with EMU is a privilege and added to his words the belief he has for obtaining Cittaslow membership with the guidance of EMU.

In the collaboration protocol signature ceremony; EMU Vice Rector for Student Affairs Prof. Dr. M. Ya?ar Ozden, Vice Rector for Financial Affairs Prof. Dr. Salih Kat?rc?o?lu, Vice Rector for International Affairs and Promotion Prof. Dr. Cem Tanova, Interior Architechture Chair Prof. Dr. U?ur Ula? Da?l? and Faculty of Architecture staff members were present.

What is Cittaslow?

Cittaslow, is a union of municipalities established in 1999, in Italy. The word is a combination of the Italian word “Citta(City)” and the English word “Slow”. It has the meaning of “Calm City”. It is known to be a part of the Slow Movement. The cities aiming to be a member of the union are expected to possess the necessary criteria and philosophy of Cittaslow. In TRNC the Yenibo?azici Municipality, Mehmetcik Municipality and Lefke Municipality were evaluated as suitable for Cittaslow membership and the Gecitkale Municipality has started work to be the 4th Cittaslow region.

Source: Eastern Mediterranean University.