DISY Supreme Council ratifies party’s list of candidates for European elections

Ruling Democratic Rally (DISY) Supreme Council ratified on Saturday the partys list of candidates for the European elections that will take place in Cyprus on May 26.

The six candidates of the party are Georgia Constantinou Panayiotou, Panayiotis Sentonas, MP Elena Stavrou, MP Nicos Tornarits, Loucas Fourlas and MEP Lefteris Christoforou.

Speaking during the Supreme Councils session, DISY President Averof Neophytou called on everyone who believes in Europe to support the partys candidates.

We are asking those who believe in reform, and to the constant growth of the countrys economy not to remain indifferent, he noted.

Referring to the Cyprus problem he said that DISY stands by Cyprus President Nicos Anastasiades in his efforts to reach an agreement on the terms of reference, so that Cyprus talks can resume shortly.

He noted that the framework of the UN Secretary General Antonio Guterres constitutes the best basis ever to get rid of the occupation and the unbearable repercussions of Turkeys presence in Cyprus. Furthermore, Neophytou said that the bizonal, bicommunal federation is the best political model in order to get rid of the Turkish occupaton.

As regards Anastasiades proposal for a decentralised federation, he said that this idea can solve the issue of the states functionality, as long as a single sovereignty, a single international personality, a single citizenship, a single economy, a single Exclusive Economic zone and a single air space are being safeguarded.

Cyprus has been divided since 1974, when Turkish troops invaded and occupied 37% of its territory. Repeated rounds of UN-led peace talks have so far failed to yield results. The latest round of negotiations, in the summer of 2017 at the Swiss resort of Crans-Montana ended inconclusively.

European elections are set to take place in all EU countries from 23 to 26 May, 2019. Citizens casting their vote will choose the 705 members to represent them in the European Parliament until 2024. Cyprus elects six MEPs.

Source: Cyprus News Agency