Cyprus to submit proposal on migration to the Council of the EU on behalf of Med5

Cyprus will submit to the Council of the EU a proposal containing three measures to deal with migration inflows until the bloc’s 27 member states reach an agreement on a new European Pact on Migration and Asylum.

Cyprus will submit the proposal on behalf of the five Mediterranean countries, that is Cyprus, Malta, Greece, Italy and Spain, Interior Minister Nikos Nouris told the House Committee on Foreign and European Affairs on Tuesday.

Nouris informed the members of the Parliament about the current negotiations to launch a new EU Pact on Migration and Asylum that have been ongoing for more than a year.

Source: Cyprus News Agency