Cyprus Rally number selection process completed

Following the 5km-long stage on Friday morning near Yeri, the fastest fifteen drivers met at Filoxenia, where Cyprus Rally HQ is situated, for the number selection process.

According to a press release, the fastest driver, Nikolay Gryazin, opted for the last possible place (15th), which is also the safest. Four times Cyprus Rally winner, Nasser Al Attiyah will be starting in 14th place and Championship leader, Bruno Magalhes in 13th. The fastest among the local crews, Alexandros Tsouloftas opted for 11th place, while Rauf Denktas, who clocked 13th fastest time, will be sweeping the stage after opting for position number one.

We only got his Skoda Fabia R5 last night after his retirement in the Acropolis rally. We pushed in the qualifying and this year I am here for the win Nikolay Gryazin told a press conference.

This is my favourite rally and I won many times here. It will not be easy but we will push from the beginning and we will see where we stand in the end of Day 1. We have no secret for our many wins here. The rally is not fast, is a mixture of slow, medium and fast stages. Still it is my favourite rally and we will try to get good result Nasser Al Attiyah noted.

Bugra Banaz thanked the organisers and added: In the qualifying stage I jumped a little too high in the first crest and caused some minor damage to the car.

Alexandros Tsouloftas said that we will run for the victory among the local crews so we will secure the Cypriot championship.

Source: Cyprus News Agency