Cyprus’ House rejects EU-Canada trade deal

The plenary of the House of Representatives of the Republic of Cyprus, after a long debate, did not ratify the trade agreement between the European Union and Canada, with 18 votes in favour, 37 against, and no abstentions.


The Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) between the EU and Canada temporarily entered into force on 21 September 2017. It had earlier been approved by the EU member states on a Council level and by the European Parliament. The agreement will fully enter into force when it is ratified by all EU member states.


Cyprus’ House rejected the ratifying bill and thus in some way stops the implementation of the agreement, with the parties that dismissed it saying that the Republic of Cyprus could negotiate exceptions and the registration of halloumi cheese.


Source: Cyprus News Agency

Leave a Reply