CNA News – CNA – Rebekah Gregoriades – Nicosia 27/05/2019 12:41

Cyprus MEPs pledge to work for national problem and countrys people

Cyprus six newly-elected Members of the European Parliament pledged to work to promote the national problem and the issues facing the people on the island. The new MEPs are Loucas Fourlas, Lefteris Christoforou, Giorgos Georgiou, Niyazi Kizilurek, Costas Mavrides and Demetris Papadakis.

President Anastasiades calls for everyones cooperation to handle the threats Cyprus is facing

President of the Republic Nicos Anastasiades called for cooperation and invited everyone to work to handle the threats Cyprus is facing and continue efforts to resolve the national problem. In a written statement issued on Sunday evening at the end of the European elections, President Anastasiades congratulated those candidates who received the people’s mandate, adding, I am sure that they will work together for the interest of Cypriot people.

Chief economist calls for prudence and the maintenance of buffers, as external risks loom

Rolf Strauch, the European Stability Mechanism’s (ESM) chief economist called for the continuation of prudent economic policies and keeping fiscal buffers as external risks, such as trade wars and Brexit, could affect growth of small and open economies such as Cyprus. In an interview with the Cyprus News Agency (CNA), Strauch said that despite the drastic reduction of non-performing loans (NPLs) in the Cyprus banking system, bad loans, along with high public and private debt, remain the country’s key challenges as they amount to 50% of the island’s GDP and continue to weigh on the economy.

Chief Returning Officer announces the final results of the 2019 European Parliament Elections

The final results of the voting process for the election of the representatives of Cyprus at the European Parliament are as follows: With registered electors 641,181, a total of 288,483 electors voted (44.99%), absenteeism stood at 352,698 or 55.01%. There were 5,510 invalid votes (1.91%), blank 2,038 (0.71%) and valid 280,935 (97,38%).

DISY, AKEL, DIKO and EDEK maintain Euro seats, first Turkish Cypriot to enter the European Parliament

Ruling Democratic Rally party and opposition AKEL maintained their two seats each in the European Parliament, with AKELs candidate, Niyazi Kizilyurek becoming the first Turkish Cypriot to win a seat in the Euro elections. The Democratic Party as well as Socialist EDEK managed to maintain their seats while the Cyprus Greens and the Citizens Alliance saw a dramatic decline in their power. Although nationalist ELAM failed to elect a Euro MP, it saw a steady rise in its percentages. Newly formed Demokratiki Parataxi (Democratic Alignment) was the surprise of the evening as it scored a percentage of more than three percent, allowing it to take part in the National Council.

Source: Cyprus News Agency