CFSP Conference: MPs call on Turkey to respect international law in Cyprus’ EEZ

A final declaration, adopted on Friday by the Interparliamentary Conference for the Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) and the Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP), calls on Turkey to respect international law and EU principles, in relation to recent events in Cyprus’ exclusive economic zone (EEZ).

According to an announcement by the Cyprus House of Representatives, the Conference started today in the Bulgarian capital, Sofia, in the framework of the parliamentary dimension of the Bulgarian Presidency of the EU. A delegation from the Cyprus House of Representatives is headed by MP Aristos Damianou and also includes MPs Giorgos Papadopoulos, Eleni Stavrou and Zacharias Koulias.

It is added that Damianou had the opportunity to inform his colleagues over the violations of Turkish warships in the EEZ of the Republic of Cyprus, during a meeting of MPs from the Mediterranean countries.

In a joint declaration, adopted by the representatives of Cyprus, Greece, Spain, Italy, Malta and Portugal, Mediterranean MPs note the relevant stamens made by the Presidents of the European Council, Donald Tusk, and the European Commission, Jean Claude Juncker. They also call on Turkey to respect international law, international treaties, the acquis communautaire, EU principles and the principles of good neighbourly relations.

Addressing later a meeting of the heads of delegations to the Conference, Damianou also informed them about Turkey’s continuous violations in the EEZ, noting that they violate the sovereign rights of the Republic of Cyprus and threaten Italian financial interests.

He also informed fellow MPs about the joint declaration and prosed its incorporation into the Conference’s final declaration. The amendment was passed with the support of the Mediterranean countries, the announcement concludes.

Drillship Saipem 12000, commissioned by ENI, was halted last Friday by Turkish warships en route to a location within block 3 of Cyprus’ EEZ.

Cyprus has been divided since 1974 when Turkey invaded and occupied its northern third. The latest round of UN-peace talks commenced at the Swiss resort of Crans-Montana on June 28, but in the early hours of July 7, it was announced that the Conference on Cyprus ended without an agreement. Talks held under the auspices of the UN aim at reunifying Cyprus under a federal roof.

Source: Cyprus News Agency