A total of 10,473 new voters registered to vote in 2018 presidential elections

A total of 10,473 new voters have applied to register in the electoral roll in view of the forthcoming presidential elections next month.

Head of the Election Service and Deputy Chief Returning Officer Demetris Demetriou also told CNA that overseas, an additional 12,517 new voters applied to register in the electoral roll.

According to the Central Election Service voting centres will operate in the cities below:

Greece � Athens, Volos, Heraklion, Salonica, Ioannina and Komotini, Larisa, Rethimnos and Patra

UK � Glascow, Leeds, London (at the Cypriot High Commission and the Cyprus Community Centre), Manchester, Birmingham and Bristol.

Election centers will also operate in Berlin, Vienna, Brussels, Manama, New York, Dubai, Doha, Paris, Prague, Riyadh, Sofia, Stockholm and The Hague.

Those who have applied to vote overseas in other cities have until 31st December to state which of the above centres they will choose by sending a statement to the Central Election Service (either by fax 22678486, or email – elections@moi.gov.cy) which will include their name, surname, ID number, the first city they had intended to vote and their choice from the approved list.

Those who do not apply, will remain registered and be able to vote in Cyprus.

The new electoral roll will be posted on 22 December and objections will have to be submitted by 2nd January 2018.

Candidacies for the presidential elections of 2018 will be submitted on 29 December 2017. The presidential elections will take place on January 28, 2018. A run off election is set to be held on February 4, 2018, if necessary.

The main contenders in the 2018 presidential elections are incumbent President Nicos Anastasiades, Stavros Malas who is running as an independent, Democratic Party leader Nicholas Papadopoulos, President of the Citizens Alliance Yiorgos Lillikas and the leader of the National Popular Front (ELAM) Christos Christou.

Source: Cyprus News Agency